The Rootstown Local Board of Education in special session at 6:00 p.m. in the Elementary School Cafeteria on May 24, 2023. Present were Tom Siciliano, Jen Curall, Craig Mullaly, Amanda Waesch, Paul McEwuen, Andrew Hawkins, Superintendent, Connie Baldwin, Treasurer. Also present: Ben Rantilla, Al Marzec. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Roll Call: J. Curall, C. Mullaly, T. Siciliano, A. Waesch, P. McEwuen

### RESOLUTION 2023-05-120 ADOPT THE AGENDA

Motion: P. McEwuen Second: T. Siciliano To approve the agenda

Yeas: P. McEwuen, T. Siciliano, C. Mullaly, J. Curall, A. Waesch

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

**Facilities Discussion** – The board discussed the facilities options and does not feel comfortable moving forward with a November ballot issue. A. Hawkins presented a list of needed upgrades and repairs totaling \$15,500,000. A discussion was held regarding possibilities for the PI levy. The earliest it can be renewed is November 2023. P. McEwuen asked about closing the middle school now and moving students into the other buildings. C. Baldwin reminded the board there are laws about offering unused buildings to community schools. A. Hawkins asked about next steps. A. Hawkins and C. Baldwin will follow up on: setting up a special meeting June 7, investigating laws for empty buildings, priority ranking the needed repairs and upgrades, inviting Rockmill Financial to the next meeting, and whether we need to rescind the OFCC resolution.

**Community Comments:** N/A

# **Superintendent's Reports/Recommendations:**

### RESOLUTION 2023-05-121 HIRE – MOORE

Motion: P. McEwuen Second: T. Siciliano

To hire Katelyn Moore as an Intervention Specialist with a Bachelor's degree, Step 1,

and a 1 year contract, effective the 2023-2024 school year.

Yeas: P. McEwuen, T. Siciliano, C. Mullaly, J. Curall, A. Waesch

Nays: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

## RESOLUTION 2023-05-122 RESIGNATION – CALHOUN

Motion: T. Siciliano, Second: A. Waesch

To accept the resignation of Cody Calhoun, HS Intervention Specialist Teacher, effective

8/31/2023.

Yeas: T. Siciliano, A. Waesch, C. Mullaly, J. Curall, P. McEwuen

Nays: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

# RESOLUTION 2023-05-123 APPROVE SUPPLEMENTAL

Motion: P. McEwuen Second: T. Siciliano

To approve the following supplemental:

Bobby Staudt HS Boys Basketball Coach

Yeas: P. McEwuen, T. Siciliano, A. Waesch, C. Mullaly, J. Curall

Nays: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

#### RESOLUTION 2023-05-124 EXTENDED SCHOOL YEAR

Motion: A. Waesch Second: T. Siciliano

To approve the following contracts to provide the Extended School Year Services to our

special needs students:

Summit County ESC Educational Alternatives Summer Camp

Portage Trailblazers Day Camp

Yeas: A. Waesch, T. Siciliano, J. Curall, C. Mullaly, P. McEwuen

Nays: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

## RESOLUTION 2023-05-125 EXTENDED SCHOOL YEAR

Motion: P. McEwuen Second: J. Curall

To approve the following to provide Extended School Year Services over the summer at

a rate of \$30.00 per hour for up to 8 weeks.

Julia Jones Eric Daniels Morgan Kuszmaul

Yeas: P. McEwuen, J. Curall, T. Siciliano, A. Waesch, C. Mullaly

Nays: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

#### RESOLUTION 2023-05-126 STUDENT TEACHER HOST STIPEND

Motion: T. Siciliano Second: A. Waesch

To approve the following teachers to be compensated for hosting a student teacher

during the 2022-2023 school year:

Denise Huth-Mercer	University of Akron	\$320.00
Misty Bing	Kent State University	\$200.00
Paula Hluch	Kent State University	\$375.00
Angela Stackpole	Kent State University	\$375.00
Stephanie Kemble	Kent State University	\$200.00

Yeas: T. Siciliano, A. Waesch, C. Mullaly, P. McEwuen, J. Curall

Navs: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

## RESOLUTION 2023-05-127 EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion: P. McEwuen Second: T. Siciliano

To approve moving the executive session for evaluation of personnel to the June 7

meeting.

Yeas: P. McEwuen, T. Siciliano, A. Waesch, C. Mullaly, J. Curall

Nays: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

## RESOLUTION 2023-05-128 ADJOURNMENT

Motion: P. McEwuen Second: T. Siciliano

To adjourn the meeting at 6:59.

Yeas: P. McEwuen, T. Siciliano, A. Waesch, J. Curall, C. Mullaly

Nays: None

Motion Carried: 5 to 0

Craig Mullaly, President Connie Baldwin-Guinto, Treasurer